top of page
Search
  • karengoulandris

Scholar Practitioners Who Impact Future Change

Updated: Jul 11, 2022


Thinking about impacting change in early childhood education can feel like climbing a mountain with the wind against you. Sometimes change

happens so slowly that it is hard to recognize when things changed or whether those changes were actually for the better. I have been in the field of early childhood education for forty years and I have seen positive change over time. Being a member of the National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC) has provided me with an avenue to gather with like minded individuals who are invested in meeting and maintaining quality early childhood programs. As an early childhood educator, it is my responsibility to become informed of the challenges that early childhood educators face in their work with children and families and then participate in the policies and initiatives that help to bring about change. Belonging to a professional organization such as NAEYC supports my efforts to become a leader of change. When I recently asked a colleague how one might initiate change when it seems that everyone else is on a different track, the response I received is that sometimes it starts with spontaneous conversations with colleagues in the copy room.

What I gained from that response is that I have to believe that the values and principles that I stand for are worth sharing with other individuals. I can share these ideas with my fellow colleagues but to become part of helping to make change, I can present my ideas to others with whom I am less familiar, at conferences and by offering workshops for professional development to other early childhood professionals. As I advance and work toward a higher level of education, I have researched topics in which I have a special interest and investment. This has helped me to gain knowledge and insight on how I might be part of leading initiatives that bring about positive change.

As I evaluate programs, it is important to remember my own pathway to this point since being in a position where others feel as though they are judged can be a barrier. As I approach professionals in various programs, it is important to recognize their efforts in creating positive early learning environments for children and to help them recognize areas that could be improved upon. Taking the time to listen to the teacher’s challenges and rationale for specific practices can help me gain a better understanding about how to support further efforts to make change. Thinking about evaluation as continuous improvement can be more effective than looking at programs as good or bad. It is important that programs understand that my role as an evaluator is to not only help to strengthen their specific program but that my investment is in the field as a whole.


Photo Credits


16 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page